Ever Ancient, Ever New

Welcome.  I hope your time spent today contemplating Jesus and His Word proves fruitful.

Today I would like to continue to reflect on our tendency to seek out new, fresh, and stimulating internet content at the expense of connecting with God.  Take a moment to consider these words from St. Augustine:

“Late have I loved you, O Beauty ever ancient, ever new, late have I loved you! You were within me, but I was outside, and it was there that I searched for you. In my unloveliness I plunged into the lovely things which you created. You were with me, but I was not with you. Created things kept me from you; yet if they had not been in you they would have not been at all. You called, you shouted, and you broke through my deafness. You flashed, you shone, and you dispelled my blindness. You breathed your fragrance on me; I drew in breath and now I pant for you. I have tasted you, now I hunger and thirst for more. You touched me, and I burned for your peace.”

 Notice how Augustine searched for God outside of himself, whereas in reality God was within him.  He “plunged” into the outside world of created things in search of God, but these outside things did not satisfy.  It was only when God Himself broke through Augustine’s shell of superficiality that he was able to truly encounter God.  After that “taste” of God,  Augustine found within himself with a voracious hunger for God that clamoured for satisfaction. 

I want to experience the same hunger and thirst for Jesus.  I want to return to his Word, which is both “Ancient” and “New” at the same time.  It is Ancient in the sense that He first proclaimed the Gospel 2000 years ago, long before I was created.  But it is also ever New, in that its power to save me is present in the here and now. It can transform my life if I let the Word take root in my being. 

Today let us pause to put aside the pursuit of “new” information that does nothing to bring us closer to God.  Instead let us return to the source and allow the ancient newness of God’s Word to speak to us:

Jesus summoned the crowd with his disciples and said to them,
“Whoever wishes to come after me must deny himself,
take up his cross, and follow me.
For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it,
but whoever loses his life for my sake
and that of the Gospel will save it.
What profit is there for one to gain the whole world
and forfeit his life?

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

