Wisdom

I decided to begin this blog in part because I used to enjoy writing a great deal and I wanted to get into it again.  I  fell away from writing after years of school when writing assignments became not creative outlets but laborious chores.   I realize currently that I am struggling to find a comfortable style.  I appreciate your feedback, positive or negative.  Do my reflections resonate with you?  Are they too abstract?  Do you want more personal reflections?  I’m concerned that my tone may seem ‘holier-than-thou.’ I definitely don’t want that.  If I don’t approach this endeavor from a place of humility, I don’t think I’ll be successful in pursuing this  itinerant preacher “with no place to lay his head.” 

Today’s first reading spoke to me today. Here it is, for your prayerful reflection: 
Sir 1:1-10

All wisdom comes from the LORD
and with him it remains forever, and is before all time
The sand of the seashore, the drops of rain,
the days of eternity: who can number these?
Heaven’s height, earth’s breadth,
the depths of the abyss: who can explore these?
Before all things else wisdom was created;
and prudent understanding, from eternity.
The word of God on high is the fountain of wisdom
and her ways are everlasting.
To whom has wisdom’s root been revealed?
Who knows her subtleties?
To whom has the discipline of wisdom been revealed?
And who has understood the multiplicity of her ways ?
There is but one, wise and truly awe-inspiring,
seated upon his throne:
There is but one, Most High
all-powerful creator-king and truly awe-inspiring one,
seated upon his throne and he is the God of dominion.
It is the LORD; he created her through the Holy Spirit,
has seen her and taken note of her.
He has poured her forth upon all his works,
upon every living thing according to his bounty;
he has lavished her upon his friends.

I especially like the words, “The word of God on high is the fountain of wisdom.”  Like the secondary title of this blog suggests, I am seeking Jesus with faith that in Him is all wisdom and knowledge.  He can offer eternal treasures – in fact, He himself is the “Hidden Treasure”, which Matthew’s Gospel speaks of.  I am enjoying this blog because it has helped me stop my compulsive websurfing and opened the door for me to read and reflect on God’s Word.  Even in just these few days I notice a difference within myself.  The Word of God is reverberating in my mind and heart.  As I go about my day I continue to think about the words I have read that day, and what they can tell me about Jesus.  A person dearest to me recently asked me, “What’s the big deal about Jesus? Why all the focus on him?”  It’s a great question, and ultimately the most important question.  I feel like I need to encounter Him all over again to really answer that question. 

In today’s Gospel reading (Mark 9:14-29) Jesus heals a young man possessed by a mute and deaf spirit.  Whatever your belief about Jesus, I could argue that He seems to have cured me of a mute spirit – hence this blog! As for whether or not what I am writing is preferable to silence – well that is for you to decide.  At the very least, if your visit today connects you with God’s Word, then all is well!

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Wisdom”

  1. Mary Says:

    I look forward to you insights and your posts. I am looking forward to you finding your “voice”. Keep it up. Deus Caritas Est

  2. Adam Says:

    I appreciate the posts, Paul. They provide a nice read and break from my work on the computer.

Leave a Reply

