“Come, let us set things right”

A reading from the prophet Isaiah:

Come now, let us set things right,
says the LORD:
Though your sins be like scarlet,
they may become white as snow;
Though they be crimson red,
they may become white as wool.

I began this blog like I do many things – with an initial burst of energy and enthusiasm which becomes hard to sustain over time.  The pursuit of holiness can be like that.  I know that my heart desires God “like a deer yearns for running streams” but I continue to be consumed by business and busyness, and most regrettably, sin.  But this reading gives me hope again.   God is “rich in mercy” and always ready to forgive.  To be “white as wool” suggests that we will become like lambs.  Once again, God is speaking to us on many levels.  One of the titles given to Jesus was the “Lamb of God.”  He offered himself as a perfect sacrifice, taking upon himself all the sins of mankind.  Astoundingly, Jesus is still inviting me to place my sins upon his back, to free me of their death-dealing. 

Once I was praying the rosary and meditating on the mystery of Christ carrying his cross to Calvary.  While I was praying, this scripture came to mind: “My yoke is easy and my burden is light.”  I was surprised at this, because surely Jesus’ cross was extremely difficult to carry, not only for its real weight, but also because his body had been tortured, and he was suffering spiritually with the weight of all Sin on his back.   But the Lord showed me that His love was so great that indeed he rejoiced in being able to take our sins upon himself.  Even now it makes me tear up thinking about that time spent in prayer and what Jesus communicated to me.    

It is never too late to set things right, for “the steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, his mercies never come to an end.” Amen!

Tags: , ,

One Response to ““Come, let us set things right””

  1. Bill Says:

    Wow – good, deep profound beautiful meditation Paul – Thanks for sharing. I never thought of the crucifixion in that way before – that His Love for us is soooooooo great, that even being tortured was in a certain mystical sense, “a light burden…” But I do think it’s easier to do hard things for people we really love. Certainly he suffered greatly, but like an athlete who will willingly endure much sacrifice and pain in training in order to win a world championship or an Olympic gold medal – Jesus endured that suffering for an even greater and lasting reward – our eternal salvation.

Leave a Reply

