Pumping Iron/Waging War

“Train yourself for devotion, for, while physical training is of limited value, devotion is valuable in every respect, since it holds a promise of life both for the present and for the future. ” – from the fourth chapter of Paul’s first letter to Timothy

I apologize for the long delay between entries.  Thank you for taking the time out of your day to meditate with me.

In the past few weeks I have re-committed myself to a regular exercise program.  I belong to a local gym where I like to work out at least three times a week.  In fact, this week marks the first time I actually got up early enough to work out before going to my job.  It was invigorating. 

But over time I know it will be challenging to maintain my regular exercise program (just like blogging).  I nned to stay devoted.  After my workout last night, I was driving in my car while listening to St. Paul’s first letter to Timothy.  The words above stood out at me.  Train yourself for devotion.  That was notable to me.  One must train himself to be devoted.  To be devoted to something means placing it above other things.  To be a devoted husband or wife means you are constantly thinking of your spouse and doing things for his or her benefit, often above your own interests.  It can be a challenge to be devoted, especially when you are used to looking out for your own interests.  Because of my devotion to exercise, I was able to carve time out of my day to exercise. Do I do the same for my soul?

If I keep working out regularly, I hope to become physically bigger and stronger. While this is valuable, Paul points out that even while physical fitness is useful, our spiritual fitness should be paramount.  A man who is the most physically strong person in the world, can nevertheless be extremely weak when confronted with the temptation to sin.  I need to train myself to be devoted.

An excellent way to foster devotion is choosing a particular form of prayer to do each day.  The Rosary is a particularly good one.  It is easy to learn and very portable.  I usually carry one in my pocket, have one in my car, and have several strewn about the house.  Also, I have a friend who also values daily prayer, so we will call each other and pray the rosary together.  We have been doing this fairly frequently for almost two years.  It has been an excellent way to help each other set time aside to acknowledge God, thank him for his blessings, and ask him for continued help with all our needs. We call it “waging war” because we like to think of ourselves as being soldiers in the battle against evil.  During the rosary, we meditate on the mysteries in the Life of Christ.  The Spirit will grant helpful insights to the one who is contemplating Christ. 

So let’s commit ourselves to both a physical and a spiritual fitness program.  Then, when our earthly journey is over, we will present ourselves as “strong in the Lord!”

Leave a Reply

