A Matter of Life and Death

Jesus said, “Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes forth from the mouth of God.”

The important thing to consider here is the seriousness of what the Lord is proclaiming.  We have corporal needs, but we also have spiritual ones.  Today while reflecting on this passage, I heard them more as a warning, a caution about grave danger at hand.

If I stop eating and drinking, I will surely die.  That is a basic fact of life.  But if I take care of only my physical needs, I also risk spiritual death.  Only the Word of God can bring me life, a life that will persist into eternity.

I understand more deeply now how critical it is that I meditate on the Gospels and internalize the words of Christ.  It is a matter of life and death.

Leave a Reply

